From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Actor Framework Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I use the AF?

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm an AF newbie... I apologize if this isn't the correct place to post...  I am working on an app and trying to decide if it is worth learning to use the AF or just use an explicit QSM producer/consumer.  My actor structure and inheritance, as best as I can figure, are shown below.

The Pairing Monitor monitors ANT+ RF connections, the USB stick monitor makes sure the user hasn't pulled the USB receiver out of the computer, the ANT+ controller is the root actor, the message processor processes ANT messages (not actor messages - I know, term overloading), the TCP/IP monitor monitors a connection with another app, and the UI/Control panel are self explanatory.

Conceptually, I can see the advantages to using the AF - reusability, modularity, etc.  I'm all for OO and extensibility.  But in trying to learn to use the AF, I've come across four or five different examples which are each set up differently, and using LV's built-in template creator thingy sets up VIs that are reentrant and clones and whatnot and are difficult to follow.  I've seen the presentations, white papers, documentation, etc... I guess my issue is that I'm kind of on information overload at this point.  The AF is such a big departure from the way I've written LV code in the past.  I've gone from sequential LV to learning OOLV to trying to learn to use QSMs and now the AF... at some point, LV stopped looking like LV. 

Any advice for the overwhelmed?

Thanks,

-Jamie

FES1.png

FES2.png

Message 1 of 4
(6,128 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author jfalesi