Actor Framework Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Actors and interfaces - am I doing it right?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hey everyone, I'm pretty new to AF and not sure if I'm using interfaces to communicate between nested and parent actors correctly.

Let's say I have three actors in my system: A, B and C (very original, I know). Actor A is the root actor that launches B and C which periodically send updates to A. Currently, to achieve that for each nested actor I've created a new "Abstraction" library that contains an interface with its methods and messages for these methods. Actors B and C use these "interface" messages to send data to actor A which implements both interfaces and updates UI as messages come in. It seems to work just fine and doesn't couple nested actor to its caller, but I guess it just feels a bit cumbersome to me to create a new library for every actor that has to send messages up the tree. Hence my question, am I doing this right, or is there some other approach I cannot think of myself?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 37
(2,330 Views)

Are B and C sending different updates to A? If so, yes, you're doing it right. If they're sending the same updates to A, then you only need one interface and both B and C can send to the same interface. 

This assumes that you need the independence of B and C from A. There is also the strong coupling route where B and C send messages to methods defined on A directly. While there are many conditions where the interfaces are preferable, don't over-engineer the system if B and C are unlikely to need that independence. It is relatively straightforward* to refactor to create the interfaces later if you realize you want to reuse B or C separate from A. 

* straightforward enough that in theory scripting tools could be created to autogenerate the interface and add it to the system, but to the best of my knowledge, no one has written such tools yet. 

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 37