From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Actor Framework Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AF Project Documentation

So this is related to my previous question.

I inherited an AF program with minimal documentation. What kind of documentation do you guys find useful and how do you go about generating/creating it?

In DQMH I would just run Anti-doc as a good start. I tried that here and it does generate some class UML diagrams, but not very useful.

I started drawing out an actor tree. I also expanded the built-in class heirarchy to get an idea. I may run the GOOP UML modeller. That's all static though.

When it comes to sequence diagrams, what are people's preferences? Would you start trying to create your own or would you run the Python tool that uses AF debug to capture the actuals? I assume that might be easier.

Also has anyone found a good way to look at an Actor and figure what all messages it can recieve/send?  In DQMH I can simply look in that library and it is all there. In AF, due to inheritance, it's kind of spread out. Anyone have any tools or shortcuts for figuring that out? Is there an easy way to see what all messages a particular actor responds to? Or am I just stuck going through each actor in the heirarchy and trying to maintain that in my head? If I have to do it manually, anyone have any particular form of diagramming this that makes sense?

Sam Taggart
CLA, CPI, CTD, LabVIEW Champion
DQMH Trusted Advisor
Read about my thoughts on Software Development at sasworkshops.com/blog
GCentral
Message 1 of 2
(1,101 Views)

@Taggart wrote:

I inherited an AF program with minimal documentation. What kind of documentation do you guys find useful and how do you go about generating/creating it?