Machine Vision

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trigger on image arrival

Hi,
I'm a newbie, and this is my first post, so be kind, and please feel free to explain the obvious - cause it probably wont be to me.

I want to acquire a series of images (assynchronous) from a 1394 camera that is hardware triggered.
I'll be using LabView (8.0) to acquire and analyse the images, and I want my vi to respond to each image arrival ASAP - like some sort of event trigger based on the images arrival.  Is this possible?  It looks to me like the trigger fcn needs an hardware input to the acquisition card - and I don't think my card has that capability (NI PCI 8252). 
TIA

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,615 Views)
Rik_nz,

Well... you have 3 options.  Option 1 achieves what you want via polling and options 2 and 3 achieve what you want via waiting.  If you want to do some processing while waiting or polling then you might want to consider running the firewire VIs in a parrallel loop.

Options...
1.  Use the NI-IMAQ IEEE 1394 property node to monitor the "Last Buffer Number" property to check if "Last Buffer Number" has incremented.  If you run this in a quick while loop you can successfully poll to see when a new image has been acquired.  Once "Last Buffer Number" has been incremented, grab the image in that buffer.

2.  Use "IMAQ1394 Grab Acquire.vi" to acquire your images.  Make sure the "Immediate" input is false so that the VI waits until the next image is aquired.  This will cause your VI to wait until an image is available and return the image as soon as possible.

3.  Use low level grab VIs and use "IMAQ1394 Occurence Config.vi".  You can create an occurance that fires when a new image is acquired and then use LabVIEW's "Wait on Occurence" function to wait for the an image to be available.  NOTE:  Only use occurrences with the low level grab functions, the high level grab functions already use occurences.