This widget could not be displayed.

From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Machine Vision

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stereo library 2012 pointers

Solved!
Go to solution

Dear programmers,

I am trying to evaluate the new Stereo Vision Library and since I am fairly new at this, I would greatly appreciate an advice or two.

My (simple) setup is:

setup.jpg

- Two DSLR cameras (different models, Cannon 50D and 350D)

- Different lenses, but the focal lengths were the manually set to 35 mm

- Same lighting (outdoor)

- Baseline distance ~200 mm

I calibrated single cameras using a camera model and also corrected perspective distortion. I used a grid shown above in 20 different postitions. Here, I had no problem.

A static scene was considered, and the cameras were set on 10 s timer.

Moving on, I used the stereo library to calibrate the stereo system and saved the stereo calibration data.

I used the semi-global block matching alghoritm to find the disparity image. Based on the equation

where f = 35 mm and b = 200 mm.

I calculated the minimum disparity and number of disparities for my working distance (approx. 500-3000 mm) -> min disp = 0, number of disp. = 16.

Using a small window size 7x7, I calculated the disparity for the following acquired images (an example of acquired image pair):

Left image                                                                                                      Right image

L14.JPGR14.JPG

The disparity image i get (non-interpolated) is:

disparity.jpg

The depth image isn't calculated (blank image) for some reason.