LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

URGENT HELP: Synchronization of Multiple Devices

To whom it may concern,

I am relatively new to labview so I am sorry if I use the wrong terminology.

Here is all of my equipment:

DAQ USBX-6341 board.

Cameras (plugged into digital p0.0 channel/port)

Force Sensor (plugged into analog channel/port 1)

Test Machine (plugged into COM5)

Currently,I am sending in a trigger to the camera to start taking photos. This trigger takes 2 miliseconds and then the labview program tells the forcesensor and testing machine to start. This creates a delay between the camera, force sensor and testing machine. THis makes it difficult to analyze data.

I want the testing machine, cameras, and force sensor to start taking pictures at the same time. I was told that the best way to do this would be to send in a square wave at my desired sampling rate (ex. 15,000) into the DAQ. This would synchronize everything so that it started capturing data at the same time once a trigger was sent in.

Is this the easiest way to accomplish that goal? Is there an easier way to do this?

Thanks

gcass

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(3,167 Views)

Hi gcass,

It sounds that what you're looking for is a deterministic system response. Determinism is the ability to say that at a certain point in your program, a certain function will happen within a certain amount of time, plus or minus some variation (Jitter). On an Operating System that isn't Real Time oriented, deterministic responses i.e. getting your 2ms long trigger to execute and then simultaneously begin the acquisition can't happen; this is because the OS gets in the way because of the way it schedules tasks.