LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Options to transfer data from host processor to FPGA

Hello,

I'm a LabVIEW beginner and I try to understand the options on how to transfer data from the host processor to a FPGA target. I'm working on an exisiting project which I try to understand and which I want to optimize. The project uses a control structure which is an array with elements which consist of cluster data types. For simplicity assume that each element of this cluster is a UInt32 type variable.

In Limiting the Number of Top-Level Front Panel Objects in FPGA VIs (FPGA Module) it is recommended to limit the number of front pannel objects (especially the array type ones) because they use a lot of FPGA ressources.

I was considering the following options to transfer the data to the FPGA:

• Use a front pannel object but don't transfer the complete array but send each element individually using handshaking signals
  • Use User-Defined I/O variables and and send each cluster element indivudially. I'm not sure if there is any benefit comparing it with transfering each array element indivudually through a front pannel object
  • Use a DMA-FIFO and send the array as a stream. My idea was to serialize the array as a UInt32 stream and then to reconstruct the cluster on the FPGA side. But I have no idea if/how this is feasible.

Is there another option which I haven't found and what would be the best method to transfer the data in my case?

Regards

Martin

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 15
(4,076 Views)

The recommendation to restrict the number of FP objects only applies if you are having space problems in your FPGA. There is nothing wrong passing a cluster of U32 directly through the FP unless of course your cluster is gigantic. So your different methods are all worth considering. How many control elements do you have?