cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I use two counters simultaneously for pulse width measurment

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello, everyone!

I am new to Labview. I currently do some pulse width measurment with 9401 and cDAQ9171. My understanding is the 9401 has 4 counters, that means I can use these counter separately. However I meet following problem. 

1. I use the ctr 0 and ctr 1 (PFI 1 and PFI5) to measure two different pulse width. However, it seems there is an interference between two counters. How can I make the two counters working simultaneously and separately?

2. I first try one counter for pulse width measurment in Labview signalExpress. My pulse width is around 0.4ms. However, I cannot get the right result if I choose the starting edge is rising (the results always around 20ns. Only if I revise my pulse and choose the starting edge is falling, I can get a reliable results.

I am confused about those question for about 3 weeks....Is there anyone can help what can I do with that?

I have attached a simple vi....

Thank you very much!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 38
(9,417 Views)

Hi daisy610539,

Thank you for your post to the forums!

I understand you have a 9171 1 slot cDAQ chassis with a 9401 DIO 8 channel bi-directional module. You wish to make use of the onboard 32-bit counters from the 9171 chassis. The counters are not on the 9401, the counters are simply accessible through the 9401. 

1. When you mention interference what exactly do you mean? Are you seeing values being superimposed on each other? What values are you expecting?

Here are some links to look at relating to mutliple counter measurement applications:

How do I read two counters simultaneously?

Synchronizing Two Counter Tasks in NI-DAQmx

AO+ 2 counter tasks of PCI-6110

Use Counter to Create a Clock for a Buffered Edge Counting Task

Finite Buffered Measurement of Digital Frequency Using Two Counters in DAQmx

Period Measurement with a Counter