Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

An existing Meade Deep Sky Imager ccd driver?

Hi,

I am wondering if anyone has a driver for Meade CCD cameras, specifically the Deep Sky Imager?  It appears that NI doesn't have one on the site.  I am also relatively new to Labview in general, so let me give a little background on what I am doing.   You may have some other suggestions that I am overlooking.

What I'm trying to do is take images of laser pulses with the CCD camera (not exactly what this particular camera is made for, but I'm stuck with it).  The CCD is monochrome, which makes it difficult to see the pulse structure, so right now, I am taking black and white images with the software that came with the camera (AutoStar Suite) and feeding them into a VI that adds pseudocolor and writes the pixel values to a log so that other software can characterize the pulse.  This characterization software takes a long time to run, so feeding it good images in the first place is necessary.  My issue with this process is that it is inefficient when taking large amounts of data.  What I would like to do is view the images in pseudocolor in realtime so that the pulse structure can be easily seen immediately, which is not possible with the limited software provided.  Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.  It isn't vital to the work I'm doing, so a very involved solution is not necessary.  However, if there's a quick fix out there, please let me know.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(4,566 Views)
I doubt you will be able to find a driver for this specialized camera, but you never know.
Since a laser is monochromatic light, what additional information will a color camera provide?
Regarless of the camera, watch out for saturation, use an ND filter if neccesary and possible. Your camera may be optimized for low light exposures.