Academic Hardware Products (myDAQ, myRIO)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Controlling analog out timing from myRIO MSP ?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I'm new to myRIO and have just received mine.

How can you set the rate of analog out samples from the MSP port of a myRIO ?

For example, I wish to output an analog stream at 200ksps.

Placing the ANALOG OUT block in a timed loop and running only gives an output rate of 6.3kHz. (measured at the ao1 using a scope)

See the attached file.

Am I using the timed loop incorrectly ? (...havent used them before)

Or does myRIO needs some extra setup ?

Thanks for any help with what seems like a very simple problem.

Cheers.

===============================================================

Take a look at DATEx, FOTEx, HELEx & SIGEx add-in trainer boards for NI ELVIS 1,2 & 2+ and DXIQ, ESSB for NI ELVIS III and myDSP for myDAQ to learn Wireless Telecoms, Signals & Systems, Fiber Optics and Green Energy principles (www.emona-tims.com)
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(8,943 Views)

Hey carloman,

When you place a timed loop you'll need to configure its timing source and dt.  I'll assume you've done that already, but I just posted some info on how to do that in this thread (post 16).

I would start slowly to make sure you understand the loop configuration.  Try to output at 1KHz, then 5KHz and make sure that works as you expect.

200Ksps is getting pretty fast.  If you're running your code interactively (clicking the run arrow in LabVIEW) then the myRIO spends a lot of CPU time pipeing data from myRIO back to your desktop to update the front panel.  The loop rates will greatly increase if you build the LabVIEW application into an RT EXE and deploy it to the myRIO.  This strips out the front panel and lets the myRIO focus on running your code without worrying about updating the front panel.