Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SCB-68 Configuration with PCI -6220

Hello,

I'm quite new with NI products and I'm facing a huge problem for my poor knowledge 😉

I'm using a PCI-6220 and a SCB-68 to (try to) realise the acquisition of two signals : an accelerometer and an impact hammer. I also have a conditionner.

The problem is that I don't know on which pins I have to connect the wires of the accelerometer and the hammer.

I'd like to have the accelerometer on the channel 1 and the hammer on the channel 2.

I'd like to have a RSE configuration. As I have two wires per sensor, I suppose I have to connect one of them on the pin channel (1 or 2) and the other one to the ground. BUt there are several pins for the ground... Which one do I have to choose ?

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 19
(4,225 Views)

Hello Sylvain,

To view the device pinouts of your DAQ device you must go to Measurement & Automation Explorer >> "NI DAQmx devices" >> Right Click on "NI PCI-6220" >> "Device Pinouts, this will show you the layout of the pins on your DAQ card. It does not strictly matter which ground you connect the second lead of your sensor to, for example you can connect the accelerometer to AI1 and AIGND and your impact hammer to AI2 and AIGND. The following Knowledge Based Article may assist you further with your application.  http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/tut/p/id/3344.

Please post back with more info if necessary and I will look into this further.

Kind Regards

Ben L
Field Engineer
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 19
(4,218 Views)

Hello Ben L,

Thank for your quick reply!

I had a look into your link but I don't understand everything.

I will try to detail my configuration :

- A datagate with 4 inputs and 4 outputs

- An accelerometer

- An impact hammer

The accelerometer is plugged on the input 1 of the datagate, the impact hammer on the input 2.