From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I avoid a sequence race condition

I'm very new to Labviews, so hopefully this is an easy question to answer and I'm just being dense.

Basically, I'm reading a data value, comparing it to the previous value read, then storing the new value as the old value so I can do it again with the next value read.

In pseudo-code that is:

read new
result = new - old
old = new
repeat

I'm using a local variable to store the old value. I created a sequence that takes the new value and does the compare in the first frame, passes the new value to the second frame as a sequence local, then stores the new value into the old value local variable.

This is creating a race condition and my result is always 0. What is happening here and what is the preferred way to do t
his simple calculation?

Thanks,
Jeff Vickers
NASA/KSC
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(4,243 Views)
Jeff,
1) I preffer not to use Sequence with more than 1 frame.
2) I preffer also not to use local variables (because race condition)

It better to use while loop with shift register (this is local memory that remember previous values of something).

You can post your VI and i can change it to new structure with While Loop.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(4,243 Views)
Jeff,

It sounds like you have it wired right from your description, though sequences and locals are not the best way to accomplish this.

Are you running in a loop? If so, the loop may be running so fast that you aren't able to see the change in the result before it switches back to zero on the next iteration (when old=new). This depends on how fast your new value is changing.

Also check to make sure your frames are in the right order.