LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

newbie question: max speed of while loops

I'm a complete Labview newbie trying to set up a fast loop to do some software processing.

I created a timed loop and wired the NI DAQ frequency source to it.

I did the following:

1) wire DBL numeric to FREQUENCY (call it my_freq)

2) wired DEV1/CTR0 to counter

3) wired "i" to Numeric output

4) wired integer const=1 to period of timed loop

I can change my_freq up to about 20,000 (20khz) and it seems to be relatively accurate.  I can count 10 seconds according to the windows clock between when I hit start and stop and it gives around 200,000. 

Anything above this and it starts to lose counts.  Is 20khz the max speed I can run this loop? Isn't the close base 80MHz?

My system is:

1) PCI  6221

2) Quad Core P4 3ghz Core2duo

3) Geforce9600

Shouldn't I be getting way above 20khz?  I would like to sample and write to the DIO lines at the max clocked 1MHz.

Is there any way I can speed up the above code?  I know there's some commands that let you sample say 1000 samples every clock base but I'd like to use the fast hardware based timer if possible to do some software processing.

Am I limited by the update speed of the visual numeric control (but the internal processing is faster)?

I wrote the following pseudo code (still figuring out how, I'm used to C not labview) inside the loop would I get 10x performance?

while(1)

{

count=count+1 ;

if (count==10){

Numeric_output=Numeric_output+1;

count=0;

}

}

Thanks for the help!

Thanks for the help!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 22
(5,334 Views)

To read and write clocked IO you shouldn't use a software (single read/write) timing.

You should use a hardware clock (from your counter for instance) and read/write multiple samples in one burst, the examples of DAQmx show pieces of code to use a different clock.

Look at timed IO. Be aware you can only use the first 8 lines to read/write timed DIO.

Ton