FieldPoint Family

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Very slow deployment with LabVIEW 2011 vs. 8.6 on cFP 2120

Hi all, 

I have been developing with LV for about 4 years now, and I have been working with Fieldpoint controllers for a couple of months.

I took over a project written in LV 8.6. Deploying to a cFP was a fast process, about 2-3 minutes at most, after rebooting the cFP. I then decided that I was tired of working in the 8.6 dev environment and upgraded to LV2011, and updated the real-time engine on a cFP to see how things worked. Unfortunately, it now seems that it takes more like 20 minutes to deploy the application I'm working on. Very irritating! I didn't do anything like make the application bigger, I actually made it smaller. No property nodes anywhere either, I saw a that reported those caused slowdowns. I did do a full install of LV realtime on the cFP, maybe it's one the many unused services (Epics server? Any of the myriad web services?) installed?

Any ideas why this might be? 

Regards,

Mark G

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 20
(9,449 Views)

Hello Mark,

This is Andrew Brown, an Applications Engineer. It is certainly not expected behavior for your application to take longer to deploy using LabVIEW Real Time 2011. Rather, the deployment process should be faster according to this article. To gather more information about the issue, I would appreciate if you could clarify your system:

1. I assume you are working with FieldPoint 6.0.9 now. Did you upgrade this driver's version as part of upgrading LabVIEW? If so, what version were you working with before?

2. Are you using any additional toolkits with your LabVIEW program? (Statechart, Mathscript RT, etc.)

3. Does this deployment slowdown happen only with this program, or does it also happen with examples from the NI Example Finder?

Regards,

Andrew Brown

Software Engineer
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 20
(9,441 Views)

Hi Andrew,