VeriStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

instrument readings in Veristand with a remote system

Solved!
Go to solution

I am new to National Instruments hardware and Veristand and I'm trying to use an instrument with Veristand to see if I can get readings from that instrument. I am using a PC with Windows Vista and I'm connected through a network to a PXI 8108 controller in a PXI 1050 chasiss. The instrument is just a thermocouple which I am using to get familiar with everything. The thermocouple is connected to the SCB-68 connector block which is connected to a PXI 6221 multifunction DAQ in the chassis. I am able to create a task in MAX under remote system and everything seems to work. What I want to do is to get the readings into Veristand, and I'm not sure if I need to create a custom device that is linked to the DAQ somehow or if there's some other way to do this. I've created the DAQ device in the system explorer but I don't see any way of linking it to the actual DAQ device on the remote system. I'm wondering if someone can help with this. 

Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(9,978 Views)
Solution
Accepted by GriffE

You can read your thermocouple channel value directly from VeriStand, but the process is different than using MAX.

In System Explorer, add your DAQ device that is cabled to your SCB-68. Make sure you specify the same name (i.e. "Dev1") that is in MAX. Also make sure you've imported the device channel that is hooked up to the thermocouple (i.e. "ai0"). There's no way in System Explorer to specify that this channel should have thermocouple scaling. VeriStand will initially sample this channel value as a raw voltage value. You can, however, set the high and low limit for this channel to something small like +/- 1V, since thermocouples have very small readings.