PXI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Grounding of PXI 5412 and PXI 5124 used in conjunction.

HI,

I'm a civil engineering student looking to measure the resistivity of various samples of clay. I'm using a NI PXI 5412 signal generator in conjunction with an NI PXI 5124 oscilloscope. I've split the co-axial cable coming from the signal generator to make the proposed circuit detailed in figure 1 below. In order to calculate the resistivity of the clay, I plan to use the oscilloscope to measure the potential across the clay, similarly by splitting the oscilloscope co-axial cable as also detailed in figure 1.

The trouble I have is, even when my circuit isn't complete as detailed in figure 2, if I generate a signal with the function generator and connect the central co-axial wire from the oscilloscope to the central coaxial wire of the function generator, I read on the oscilloscope exactly the signal I am generating. Even with the circuit complete, no matter where I connect the outer wire from the oscilloscope to on the circuit the reading on the oscilloscope does not change.

Is this proposed circuit feasible? I am a novice in electronics, is it something to do with the grounding of the function generator and oscilloscope and if so is there a way to change this? Any information would be helpful.

Regards Chris

circuits.JPG

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(3,998 Views)

Hi Karl,

Welcome to the forums!