From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

NI TestStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Passing information between Main Sequence and Model Plugin

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello everyone,

i have a problem concerning the passing of values between my model plugin and my main sequence. I am a newbie to Teststand, so i hope you can help me a bit here.

At the beginning of the test we need some information for the UUTs, for example LOT code and article number. So i created a LabView VI that collects the required information. I first did this in our Process model - PreUUT Callback. But i want to outsorce this steps to a model plugin, so we can use it with different Process models (at the moment we are just using the Sequential model). I thought i put it in the Model Plugin - Begin Sequence because i also have to define the logging database path, but i have no clue how to pass the data from the Model Plugin to my main sequence. 

Should i make a station global container for all the specific company data ? Or is there a better way, maybe to add additional data to the parameters of the Sequence ?

Many thanks in advance,

Stevie

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,116 Views)

Because the Model Plugin is a process model type of sequence file you can create a model callback in there.  Then override it from the client file.  It won't show up green in the client unless you add it to the process model.

I put this on the idea exchange but it hasn't gotten much traction: https://forums.ni.com/t5/NI-TestStand-Idea-Exchange/Create-a-configurable-Model-Callback-list/idi-p/...

I really thing in order to truly make this a component/plug-in based application NI should make it so you can do callbacks in the model plugins without modifying the process model.