Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why is there a change in response for different sampling frequencies?

I am relatively new to DAQ and trying to use the Sound and Vibration Toolkit's SweptSineFRF(DAQmx).vi program to test a frequency sweep for a MEMS device.  I do not understand why when I change the sampling frequency and keeping all other parameters the same, I get a different frequency response on my bode plot.  In my first run I am sampling from 100-10k Hz and my sampling rate is 100kHz.  My next run is 100-100k Hz and sampling rate is 500kHz.  I do understand that I am sampling at 10x and then 5x the maximum frequency.  If someone could shed some light on this that would help me out a lot.
Thank you!
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,476 Views)
Hi,

you may sweep the 100-10kHz frequencies on the MEMS device but how do you know the frequencies of the output?  If the output goes beyond

50KHz then your 100KHz sampling rate will not be adequate and you will get aliasing.

Do not forget that for the Bode analyser you are sampling not only the input but the output of the device on the same time.

I hope that helped,

KostasB

National Instruments

Applications Engineering
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(3,466 Views)
KostasB,
Thank you for your reply.  I do understand that aliasing is a possibilty if you sample at the nyquist frequency or relatively close to it (and I know 10x is ideal). 
A little about my setup: