Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why advantech USB data acquisition cards stop working when they are using near electric Arc furnace or when heavy loads are switches on/off

I am using USB4704 ( Advantech data acquisition card). there is a signal processing piece of program in labview which demonstrait the different parametes of electric signals scaned by the DAQ card. 

the program is working properly in the lab. but it hang up or stop working as it is being used near Electric Arc furnace or where heavy load are switched. 

it is needed to be mentioned that there is a common mode inductor, and differenctial filter on the input of signal conditioner.

my major concern is if it is a good idea to use advantech products with labview in an industrial environment.  

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(4,679 Views)

I have no experience with Advantech devices, but USB DAQ of any kind can be a problem in an industrial environment. USB tightly couples the computer ground and power supply to the DAQ device. Unless the device includes robust isolation, that ground is connected to the external environment. Ground loops and induced currents which are negligible to industrial equipment can cause problems from minor shutdowns as you have experienced to complete destruction of DAQ devices and computer.

Isolated sensors or signal conditioners and DAQ equipment designed for the environment are better choices. IT does not take much damaged equipment and lost time to more than make up the difference in cost.

Lynn

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(4,668 Views)

Sounds like an EMC problem .....Smiley Surprised

First tests to find out where the biggest ammount of EMC is entering...

With the box connected to the PC and disconnected sens wires: Does it still hangs up?

Since EVERY wire is an antenna: How about using filters (shokes) in your power supply lines (PC and USB)  and the USB cable?