Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trigger Stop Data Acquisition when Move Completed

I'm new to triggering and synchronizing DAQmx with motion events and timing. It's not all that intuitive to me how to programmatically stop a data acquisition. I would like to initiate data acquisition at the moment a servo motor starts to move. I have done this through establishing a breakpoint and a trigger. I have tried several methods of stopping the data acquisition at the preceise moment when the move (only 1 milimeter or so, but very slow) is complete, and have not had much luck. I have attached a recent VI I made as an example, where the "wait for move" complete" was implemented to no avail.  What am I missing here? Should I be implementing a second breakpoint? If so, how? Should the DAQmx read vi be in a loop?

I am using DAQmx, PXI-7344, and PXI-4462.

Any advice, no matter how base level, would be appreciated.

Thanks,

ROB M.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,057 Views)

Hello Rob M.,

When the move completes, is there a pulse generated that could be used as a trigger?  If so, you could use a reference trigger to stop the acquisition.  There is an example VI in the Example Finder named Acq&Graph Voltage-Int Clk-Dig Ref.vi that you could look at.