Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Omega Pressure Transducer troubleshoot needed

Hi, I am new to Labview and NI-DAQ device. I want to connect an OMEGA differential pressure transducer on a small pipe tube and acquire a voltage signal through DAQ assistant. The pressure transducer was provided calibrated by the company. The pressure transducer has a linear voltage output 0-10 VDC and the pressure range is 0-2.5 KPa. This means to get corresponding pressure signal I simply have to multiply the voltage signal by 0.25. The pressure transducer has 3 wires; black, white and red. The transducer requires 24 VDC excitation and I have connected the black wire to the –ve and red wire to the +ve of the 24 VDC power supply. I have connected the white wire to pin #31 of NI USB-6211. Additionally I have also connected –ve of the power supply to pin# 32.

Now when I use the DAQ assistant to acquire a signal on my computer and use a multimeter on pins 31 and 32 the voltage values do not match. Please if you could tell me what I am doing wrong here.

Thank you

Ali

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,925 Views)

Hello Ali,

It seems like you are configuring your application differential. In this case, I recommend you to configure your device in an (RSE) way, using the pin #28.

In the followed white paper you will find information on how to achieve this and also their differences, since as you mentioned you are starting this is a  good reference while working acquiring data.

Field Wiring and Noise Considerations for Analog Signals

http://www.ni.com/white-paper/3344/en/

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(2,875 Views)