Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Modifying the writing to digital line(USB 6343)

Hi,

I am trying to write  array to the digital output line.

If I don't do any changes with the array size the result is ok,but If

I am trying to insert an array of different size during the running time I don't get the desired result.

I am new to Labview(So maybe I am working in the wrong way)

I will be glad to get some comment about this way of writing to the digital output line.

The files are attached.

Thanks Leonid,

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,764 Views)

Leonid, 

Thank you for using NI forums! I ran your code, and I didn't run into any errors. What are you wanting to do? What is the desired result? What would you like to see different?

Katie

Katie Collette
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(2,755 Views)

Hi Katie and thanks for the reply.

I try to use the digital output line for PWM and frequency tuning.

My idea was to build array which size is the ratio between the clock frequency and the desired output frequency.

The values(1,0) in array are arranged according the duty cycle.

When I run the program the results are accurate(I was using  oscilloscope),but when I changed the value of the frequency (thus changing the size of the array) I did not get the desired result.

When I changed the duty cycle the result was very accurate.(The size of the array did not change).

Is it a problem the changing of the array size when I am writing to the digital line?

Thanks,

Leonid

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(2,752 Views)

It sounds to me like you should consider generating the PWM with a counter rather than a digital line.

You can change freq and/or duty cycle on the fly seamlessly without needing to manage big arrays

full of digital state info. 

-Kevin P