Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Measure soil resistance by using cDAQ-9184 with analog output and input modules

Hello everyone,
Newbie here, I have posted the same topic in the Labview board and removed later due to several mistakes I made in the question and my reply. Also, I probably should post my question here on the hardware board instead of Labview. So this time, I am trying to make a better job of asking a question, since I got blamed last time due to lack of information.

I have just received a cDAQ-9184 and three modules, NI9263, NI9201, and NI9205. I want to measure soil samples' resistance by using a plexiglass box with two electrodes on the two ends ( Miller soil box). After I have been playing with cDAQ-9184  for a week, I had two plans for this task.

1st plan, connecting my soil sample with a known resistor (5.6 K ohm) in series, and output a constant DC voltage (10 V) by using NI9263. And measure the voltage across the soil sample and the resistor by using NI9205, so I can calculate the soil resistance by R1/R2=V1/V2. 

For this plan, I have finished the vi ( very simple, mainly using DAQ assistance) and tested it, which is working. I used a FLUKE 743B process calibrator ( multimeter) to check the divided voltage for soil sample and resistor, which gave me the same measurement with the LabVIEW. I also tried to measure the current by connecting the multimeter with soil and resistor in series, the current measurement is reasonable too. But the problem is the results by using this method is different with the expecting value from another device called NILSSON soil resistance meter 4000, which we usually used as a reference value.