Machine Vision

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to convert an image into a line drawing format

Hi, I am relatively new to LabView and would like to know how I can use this program to input an image and convert it into a line drawing format. I read about techniques such as canny edge detection, but am not too sure how to input it into my LabView program. Currently I am using LabView 8.2 and Vision Development 8.0.

I desperately need help about this and would greatly appreciate any help. Thanks!!!

Jason
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(5,079 Views)

Hi Jason,

If you want to convert an image to a canny edged image, then yes, you are correct that using the IMAQ CannyEdgeDetection will suffice. This function uses a specialized edge detection method to accurately estimate the location of edges even under conditions of poor signal-to-noise ratios.  I have attached a screenshot of my block diagram which opens a jpg file, extracts a color pane, and performs a canny edge detection.  You can change the filter settings depending on the desired resulting image.  The CannyEdge Detection does return an image; if you would like image data to be returned as an array (data point position coordinates, contrast, polarity, etc.), I would suggest using the IMAQ Edge tool which finds edges along a path defined in the image. Edges are determined based on their contrast, slope, and steepness. There is a great example in LabVIEW which utilizes this function titled Edge Detection Example which can be found in the Example Finder using the task search under Toolkits and Modules >> Vision >> Functions.  I hope this helps.  Please let me know if you would like further clarification or assistance.

Regards,

Vu D
Applications Engineer

Message 2 of 6
(5,071 Views)
Hi,