LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

numeric to hex conversion

Hi

i am new to labview. i have implemented a controller circuit and serially communicating with using lab view in that i am using a numeric value and converting it to hex using numeric to hex string and receiving that on port 1 of controller but that is displaying ASCII values of my number though i have converted it in hex in block diagram of labview. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,909 Views)
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(2,887 Views)

Usually you want to send out hex values and not the hex value in ascii text 😉

the visa write will print any string value.

So the easy way is to just enter your values into a string control set to hex display, or convert an array of byte to a string and send it.

See pic and vi, you have to add the visa functions...

(The display format of the byte array is special 😉 you can enter decimal or hex values.... (this works only for [UI][8,16,32])

ascii.png

Greetings from Germany
Henrik

LV since v3.1

“ground” is a convenient fantasy

'˙˙˙˙uıɐƃɐ lɐıp puɐ °06 ǝuoɥd ɹnoʎ uɹnʇ ǝsɐǝld 'ʎɹɐuıƃɐɯı sı pǝlɐıp ǝʌɐɥ noʎ ɹǝqɯnu ǝɥʇ'

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(2,860 Views)

Thank you soo much for help.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 6
(2,579 Views)

Hi

I have problem in labview to my hardware communication. when i am using (testing) code for my controller and using CS100FULL.vi then i get whatever data i send on assigned ports. But i want total 12 bit data to deal with and thats to in hex form insted of ASCII so i do the necessary changes in controller code(testing1) and making change in vi also keeping width of decimal to hex string conversion block 3. but i wont get any data at port.