Did you mean: 

find a row in an array with largest value

Hi, I have this array:

0: OBB-9EF6FC (c7:6c:f0:9e:f6:fc) rssi:-53
1: OBB-602842 (c7:6c:f0:9e:f6:fc) rssi:-82
2: OBB-3H6FJ2 (c7:6c:f0:9e:f6:fc) rssi:-84
3: OBB-39DF41 (c7:6c:f0:9e:f6:fc) rssi:-81
4: OBB-494FOB (c7:6c:f0:9e:f6:fc) rssi:-82

And I need to find the row with the biggest rssi value, and have this row be an output. How do I do this?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(2,912 Views)

Iterate through the array using auto-indexing tunnels.  Store the largest value and the index of that value in a shift register.  If you come across a larger value, then you update the shift registers.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(2,902 Views)

How do I do this? I'm fairly new to labview.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(2,867 Views)

@mshask wrote:

How do I do this? I'm fairly new to labview.

Where are you stuck? Getting the numbers, or getting the maximum?

If it's both, it might be time for some of the (free) courses...

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 11
(2,849 Views)

I'm making a lot of assumption in this solution. Assuming the string before the number is always the same length, and that the - is part of the number. (if its not you just need to change the offset).

But two useful nodes to look at are Array Max & Min, and Decimal String To Number. Both of those basically extract all the data without you doing any work.

Solution.png

Message 5 of 11
(2,833 Views)

@ShockHouse wrote:

I'm making a lot of assumption in this solution. Assuming the string before the number is always the same length

You could just use Match Pattern to look for "rssi:" and use the After Substring to convert to a number.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 6 of 11
(2,810 Views)

@crossrulz wrote:

@ShockHouse wrote: