LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

data input stabilization

Hi,

I'm relatively new to labview and I am learning quite fast, but I'm stuck on this problem.

I have an input signal coming from a cDAQmx as a dynamic data string. My goal is to output a true/false where true occurs when the data flow stabilizes to within a certain rate.

The mathematical description would be something like this: When N=+/-.5%*N-1, output=true. Where N is the iteration, and +/-.5% is the tolerance, and the sample rate is .5, meaning a new N value every .5s.

Basically, if the current sample is within .5% of the previous one (indicating stable data), output true

Another option I would add in later is to compare the current sample with the avarage of the last 3 which would be:

N=(((+/-.5%*N-1)+(+/-.5%*N-2)+(+/-.5%*N-3))/3)

But once the basic idea is down it shouldn't be tough to adjust it.

I tried messing around with a while loop and a convert dynamic data to array, but I'm not sure I'm going about it the right way.

Thanks,

Ryan

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(3,359 Views)

Rayn,

You may be on the right track, but it is hard to describe a graphical program like LabVIEW in a few words.  Please post your VI so we cansee what you ahve tried.

Lynn

Hint: You need a shift regsiter.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 17
(3,042 Views)

The hint helped a lot. I think I have it set up closer-but now I'm am having a data type issue with the in range function.

Another thing-You see the third data signal on the bottom? That will be a on/off, 0 or 10 mA input. What is the easiest way to make that into a T/F trigger for data stabilization while loop?

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 17
(3,030 Views)

Ryan,

The easiest way I can think of doing this off the top of my head is to compare the value to a limit (Example: < 2mA) then have a case structure that uses from this limit to append a T/F to your data.

Hope this helps.

Regards,

Trey C.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 17