From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

creating an executable file

Hi,
I have crated a vi (with numerous subvi's) and I want to create an executable file.
This is itself really isn't the problem (I Hope!!!!----Smiley Happy I haven't created an executable as of yet as I am new to labview but I am sure there is lots of information on the subject)but I am unsure how to describe what I want to do so that I could look for tutorials on it.
I will try to explain what I need to do and hopefully someone will be able to point me in the correct direction.
I have a program that reads from a file and calculates PC usage efficiency. On the front panel of the main vi all the information is available to the user.
My problem is that I want to be able to display the user efficiency on the task bar on the PC. So maybe set it up in such a way that the executable runs on startup and then displays the info on the task bar and then if the user wishes to view in more detail they can click on the icon and the front panel will be displayed.
I hope I have explained this accuratley. If this is possible to do could someone please forward me links/info reguarding this, I would be really grateful.
Thank you
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,763 Views)
If you really do mean taskbar, not system tray, then you need to change the Title of the front panel window.  Here is a picture of how to do that.  Then just change it as often as you like.

To start on boot, just put a shortcut to the built executable in Start>Programs>Startup folder.  Dont place the executable itself here since it generates an .ini file that will subsequently be opened every time the pc boots.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(2,748 Views)

Hi Wiwah,