LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

continuous multi channel acquisition

Complete newbie question here. First time using Labview so I apologize for asking this question: Is it possible to have multi channel contiuous acquisition? If so, does this have to go through a circular buffer to prevent tying up all the computer memory? Can you vary the scan and read rates for each channel? Last question: If it is possible to do all of the above....how do you do it? I've attached a .pdf file with screen shots of my front panel and block diagram....it's extremely crude just trying to get some basic concepts down. Also if anyone can recommend some good books on actually doing the wiring and conditions of the various elements, I'd be extremely grateful. Currently I have "Labview for Everyone".
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(4,342 Views)
Yes, you can easily do continuous multi channel acquisition.

Yes, a circular buffer is employed - you can set the circular buffer size to be whatever you believe is appropriate, but you must be able to read data out of the buffer fast enough to avoid a buffer overrun error.

If you are using a single data acquisition device, then there is only one scan clock so there can only be one analogue input process and the scan rate has to be the same for all channels (which you list). In your diagram you show two separate data acquisition loops - you cannot do this if you are using a single daq device (only one scan clock).

The buffer can be read at any rate and varying amount you like, as long as you read it often enough so that the buffer does not overrun. You read out of the buffer in scans (of your channel list) rather than channels.

Look at the LabVIEW "Examples" e.g. Examples>Hardware Input and Output>Traditional DAQ>Analog Input>Cont Acq&Graph(buffered).vi