LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Writing LV program to communicate with ADAM-6017 using Modbus TCP/IP

Solved!
Go to solution

I am attempting to data log 4-20 mA signals from (3) ADAM-6017 DAQ modules (Advantech) using functions from the NI Modbus Library. I have never used LabView before, but I somewhat understand what is going on. My current VI is attached, but I do not know how to enhance the VI to perform the following tasks:

1. Output time-dependent register values from all 8 channels to Excel spreadsheet with each COLUMN as a register value (right now it outputs all values in the same column and the time is normal at first but then it gets weird -- see attached screenshot of excel sheet).

2. Output the mA reading to Excel, not the decimal value of the register. Even better would be to convert these values to the actual pressure, temperature, flow rate, etc. based on the span of the instruments. But all three ADAM modules have a mix of instruments attached (not all with the same span/units), so this may be difficult?

3. I have (3) modules on different IP addresses and I want to data log all of them. How do I add all IP addresses to the same VI (do I need 3 separate TCP Masters)? 

I would greatly appreciate anyone's help!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(3,923 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author hollyhue

1.  Change that to DDT Express VI bullet to be 1D array of scalars single channel  to 1D array of scalars multiple channels.

2.  Yes, you can convert from the U16 value to something  in mA or engineering units.  You just need to know what the conversions are for each register and do the math.   Think y= mx + B.  The only thing that will be difficult is how to know which instrument as which scaling?  You've got the same problem now, you just have to figure out a way to get that info into your LabVIEW program so that it can do the math for you.  It might be a matter of reading a configuration .ini file.