LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Visually Organized Programming Guidelines - Relevant?

Briefly, I was a programmer many years ago before suffering brain damage which drastically affected my ability to continue as a programmer.  Prior to my forced retirement, I had worked with Pearson Publishing on a book entitled "LabVIEW, Rules to Program By."

These were written in 2001, and were applicable up to LabVIEW 6.  I cannot confirm either way how well they would work with later versions of LabVIEW, but I believe, based on the basic principles of my guidelines and LabVIEW, that they should at least serve as a basis, if not still fully apply.

I never finished the book, but I did complete the guidelines, and have made them available in PDF form here:

http://disperser.info/documents/LabVIEWRulesToProgramBy(Incomplete)(Wolf2001).pdf

I welcome your feedback here for the benefit of all users as to whether or not these guidelines can be useful in these later versions of LabVIEW I have only seen snippets of long ago.  If they are still useful, and could use some updating, I may consider doing so, especially as I have heard they are finally releasing a free version of LabVIEW.

These guidelines are based on my extensive experience working on other people's diagrams, which I had the fortunate luck to start working on quite massive programs with diagrams that took weeks to decipher and which I converted to diagrams which were quite a bit easier to understand and read (as in possible.)

Please review and comment.  If you have questions, please feel free to contact me via here or email.

Message 1 of 4
(2,032 Views)

In searching the Web for "LabVIEW programming guidelines", I found an archived copy of "LabVIEW Development Guidelines", dated April, 2003, whose Chapter 6 was "LabVIEW Style Guide", which covers most of the topics that are covered in your document.