LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Vi Code in visual c++

Hello,

I am not a programmer at all and have a very little experience with Labview.

I have on one side a VI code that controls a Mirror (through a PCI6025E card). On the other side, a camera controlled with Visual C++ (Microsoft Visual C++ .NET version 7).
I want to link the 2 programs. My best options is to control the mirror with Visual C++ but I do not want to rewrite the VI code in VC++.
Should I buy the application builder.
The vi code is basically used to order and send commands to the driver of mirror. I could then make a dll (or something else ?) and call it from my VC++ program. Can this work with a more complex vi i.e. 1 VI calling 1 VI calling 1 DLL: I compile everything in 1 dll or exe so that VC++ can use it...

Thanks !
N-
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,561 Views)
Purchasing application builder to build a DLL to call in VC++ is only a slightly easier problem than recoding the VI code since you say you're not a programmer at all. I'm not familiar with the hardware you listed but depending on how complicated the VI is you could simply see what low-level function calls are made to control the mirror. If it's a few simple function calls with minimal VI coding on top of them to make it work, it might be a wash for you to recode it, as compared to compiling and actually using a DLL, in terms of difficulty. However if the VI is complex with a lot of coding on top of the lower level calls, it very well may be worth it in your situation to purchase the Application Builder and create a DLL that VC++ can interface with.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(2,555 Views)
You are right.
I think that it is not too difficult, I understood more or less everything, except the VI that allows to talk to the card. It is a basic call library function with inputs coming form nowhere...