LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using NI card buffer in regeneration mode to output pre-set, continuous, digital signal

I am trying to record analog inputs and output digital waveforms simultaneously. My main issue is that I need the digital outs to run faster (10-20MHz) than I am able to read in analog data (625kS/s) due to limitations in hardware (PXI-6289). I beleive I am able to set unique clocks for both the digital out and analog in as needed, so that should not be an issue. 

Right now I am just trying to get the digital out working since I am relatively new to Labview. I believe I will need to load my pre-set, time-varying, digital signal onto the PXI-6289 buffer and run in regeneration mode to avoid getting an underflow error or other delays in timing. I am modifying the example "Digital (Pipelined Sample Clock) - Continuous Output.vi" (attached) but I am getting an underflow error when I run my modified version (Modified Continuous Digital Output Example.vi). 

Underflow Error.png

Additionally, there are three parts of the code that I do not fully understand pictured below: the role of "DAQmx Task - Channels", the following loop, and the difference between the two digital write blocks. I do not think I need the loop pictured but the connections to and from the loop seem to break when I connect them directly to the elements inside the loop rather than going through the loop as it is shown. 

My modified vi: 

DAQmx Task Channels and Loop.png

Original section from example vi:

DAQmx Task Channels and Loop - Example.png

I am unsure why there are two different digital write blocks here:

Digital Write.png

Any help getting the digital output to continuously run in regeneration mode, understanding the loop and "DAQmx Task - Channels" block, or setting up a vi to simultaneously run digital out and analog in with different clocks would be appreciated. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 2
(810 Views)

ZYOng_0-1710547252189.png