Our online shopping is experiencing intermittent service disruptions.

Support teams are actively working on the resolution.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Updating a DAQ program with an additional plot of RPM using hall effect signal

I have some experience with LabView, but zero experience using DAQ’s and queues. I need help with updating a LabView program to add another plot of RPM onto the same graphs as drive force, torque, and current.

I didn’t create this program; rather, I am attempting to update its capabilities. The program I started from just had a live indicator for RPM on the front panel. The RPM data was sourced from a hall effect that pulses on each revolution of a magnet. The data on the live indicator is accurate, so there’s no problem with that.

Current Schematic:

npsands2020_0-1703002016715.png

The RPM data is collected in LabView by a DAQ assistant using the counter function. This DAQ assistant block is separate from the DAQ assistant collecting the analog signals of drive force, torque, and current, which is the main cause of the problems I am encountering. I cannot figure out how to run both DAQ assistants simultaneously and merge the RPM data into the array of data that is fed into the XY graph and waveform graph with the rest of the measurements.

Current block diagram (arrows pointing from RPM live indicator to the output graphs):

npsands2020_1-1703002016815.png

I took several approaches to try to achieve this, all of which failed. One approach was to create another set of independent RPM producer and consumer loops (additional obtain queue, enqueue element, dequeue element, and flush queue blocks), but I kept running into errors at the dequeue blocks. Another approach was to just have an additional producer queue for RPM (additional enqueue element and flush queue blocks), but the RPM data would not appear at the dequeue element block where each measurement is split up to be processed.