LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trigger threshold and superimpose load cell data on chart/graph

I'm relatively new to LabView and I'm trying to make a VI for measuring load on a small laboratory rolling mill. The load cells are always under a certain amount of preload until a piece of metal is rolled, at which point a narrow peak signal will be generated similar to an impulse. 

I'd like to do the following:

1. Continuously sample preload values and trigger a different sequence when a specific threshold is reached (i.e. sense when material is actually being rolled)
  2. Sample and plot load data as material is being rolled
  3. Revert to continuous preload sampling when material isn't being rolled
  4. Repeat this process for additional rolling loads that are detected and superimpose the output on a single chart/graph
  5. Export all rolling loads that are detected to Excel

I have a good idea of how to setup a threshold with doing comparative operators and how to write data to a file. I'm not sure how to superimpose data obtained at different times on a single chart/graph and what that means in terms of memory. 

Do you have any suggestions on how to go about this?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,151 Views)

Are you using any hardware?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(2,114 Views)

Using a myDAQ with external excitation voltage. 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 4
(2,112 Views)

If the expected durations of each "sample" are similar, it shouldn't be too hard. (Edit: to be clear, the below applies even if they're not similar, just your graph will by default be harder to read due to a long X timescale for the long measurement, and concentrated data at low X values for the short measurements)