LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Structuring code for reuse

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm very new to LabVIEW and I'm kicking off with a reasonably complex framework, using OO, to get to grips with the product.  It's the best way I learn and I'm under no time pressures so can evolve it, re-factor it, and even scrap and rebuild when I understand more.  I've got some experience with LabVIEW NXG in which I built the same framework but clearly that's a dead-end path.

I've become a bit confused about the best way to organise the code for such a purpose.  I want the Framework to be reusable across application projects and I've been searching the forum, papers, help and so on for a couple of days now but I don't seem to be coming across very clear answers (to me) so I'm looking for help.

My current thoughts, based on my research, are this:

• I create a project that is used to develop the framework, and save it to a directory \LabVIEW\Library\Framework.
  • I point User.Lib at that directory. I will use LabVIEW across more than one computer and this is a shared space so makes sense
  • I create a VI (and sub-VIs etc) that is an example usage of the framework under the project
  • I create a library to hold the reusable framework classes
  • Within the library I use virtual folders as Packages (in the UML sense) to aid in namespacing and protection - public and private at the top level - such that usage of the library by other applications is restricted to the classes in Public.  There is dependency between classes in Public and classes in Private obviously, but no recursive dependency (i.e. classes in Private are not dependent on classes in Public)