LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simulating Agilent DMM

Hi All,

I'm relatively new to LabVIEW and I'm developing a DMM software at work. I want to test my software but the problem is I am working from home and I don't have a DMM with me. In my project I've created a superclass named DMM where Agilent 34972A and Simulated DMM are the children. I wanted to be able to test my application using the Simulated DMM and figured I might be able to create one later. I actually have no idea how to make this simulated DMM and was wondering if anyone else knew a way that I could.

I've attached the Main VI of my project, it obviously isn't complete yet but I've learned that posting a VI is a good way to give an understanding of what I am working on. 

Cheers,

Tristan Lee

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(833 Views)

NI-DMM can be simulated at the instrument driver layer and hence no change is required in your application code.

I am not sure if such a thing exists for Agilent 34972A.

You can implement code to return random data in the Simulated DMM class method, you can even make it intelligent to return measurements that correspond to the range or aperture time setting by keeping track of settings set during execution into the class private data.

Santhosh
Soliton Technologies

New to the forum? Please read community guidelines and how to ask smart questions

Only two ways to appreciate someone who spent their free time to reply/answer your question - give them Kudos or mark their reply as the answer/solution.

Finding it hard to source NI hardware? Try NI Trading Post
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(831 Views)

Hi Santhosh,

Thanks for the quick reply!

Can the simulated NI-DMM be found in the examples, if not do you know of any resources where I could learn about its implementation?

Cheers,

Tristan

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 4
(828 Views)

@trlee02 wrote:

Hi All,