LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Serial communication with Arduino

Solved!
Go to solution

I am using Arduino to detect the temperature change measured by an NTC and want to communicate it to LabVIEW.

The problem is that the temperature fluctuates abruptly from 25°C (the one I measure) to 0°C ... I don't know why.

This is my first time writing a program on LabVIEW, so it is definitely not optimized and will be a disaster. Therefore I am providing the code and asking what I am doing wrong and what I need to improve.

I cannot attach the Arduino .ino file, but I just tell you that (set the baud rate equal on Arduino and LabVIEW) I am using this line of code to transmit the temperature "Tread" in float: Serial.println(Tread);

Thanks to everyone!

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(1,341 Views)
Solution
Accepted by kalemaxon89

Do not use "Bytes to read", change your code to this below:

GRCK5000_0-1684937597817.png

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(1,317 Views)

Thank you! Now it seems to be working👍

Why 1023?

Why is the "Bytes to read" block incorrect?

I also take the opportunity to ask you how should I choose the value to put in the "Wait" block ... I set 500ms but just to test, I don't know how much goes there. Keep in mind that I want to use a Baud Rate of 19200

(if this information is useful to you).

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(1,309 Views)

Watch this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J8zw0sS6i1c&t=1s            by crossrulz

it tells you  why "Bytes to read" is incorrect.

But I chose 1023 because it is the maximum number you can represent with 10 binary bits. 

I think it’s always a good idea to have the wait there to prevent the processor (CPU) from working too hard. Bear in mind the processor needs to complete tasks such as updating and responding to the user interface. So putting a delay, it's always a good thing.

You don’t have too much in your loop, so I think 500 ms should be fine at baud rate of 19200.