Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reading binary result from PM5B VDI Power Meter

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi All,

I am new in LabVIEW.

Recently, I make program to read measurement result from Power Meter of VDI PM5B.

The equipment quite uniqe because the the results are in ASCII and binary.

The response from the PM5B has a six byte message format. Byte 1 is an ASCII character. Byte 2 can be an ASCII character or straight binary depending on Byte 1. Bytes 4 through 6 are straight binary. In the returned response, Bytes 2 and 3 together constitute the data in 16 bit integer format (short integer). These two bytes should be unpacked as a 16-bit integer. In addition, these are 16-bit 2's complement numbers, which will need to be converted from 16 bit 2's complement to decimal.

How to convert the 16 bit 2's complement to decimal?

I attach my program. it is not work well, because the result is diference with the reading of the power meter.
I also attach the explanation from the manual.

Hopefully, you can help me.

Thank you.

Manual of PM5B.jpg

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(2,157 Views)

Hi kurnwin,

when you want to parse 6 bytes/chars then you should do that:

Maybe you need to insert a "ToI16" conversion after the JoinNumbers function, I'm not quite clear on all those "2's complement numbers"…

(There exists a lot of other ways to do that conversion from string to numeric values, like UnflattenFromString…)

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(2,098 Views)

Dear GerdW,

Thank you for your reply.

I see the picture of your program. Would you like to give me the VI version of the program?

Or maybe you can mention the name all drivers in the program that you have made.

I try to edit my program based on your suggestion, but I do not know the name of each function/driver.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Windi

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 14
(2,073 Views)

Hi kurnwin,