LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Programmatically increase sequence size

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to Labview and I'm having a hard time doing some fairly basic tasks.

Currently I want to programmatically change to size of a sequence. 

I need to automate a sequence of valves to open and I would like the amount of steps to change based on a number.

Currently I have 9 clusters (one per step) with a timer to change how long a step takes, however this doesn't seem the right way of doing it especially as it's not sizable. I'll attach some screenshots that will hopefully help explain. (each button is a valve)

I'm also trying to completely stop valves from opening or closing depending on some pressure sensors as if there is pressure and the wrong valve opens it could break a lot of expensive flowmeters.

Regards,

Andrea

Interface.PNG

block diagram.PNG

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(404 Views)

Hi Nizzo,

@Nizzo wrote:

Currently I want to programmatically change to size of a sequence. 

I need to automate a sequence of valves to open and I would like the amount of steps to change based on a number.

This is the wrong way to create your program/algorithm!

Instead of trying to add/delete frames in your sequence you should use a simple state machine!

Then it becomes very easy to define the number of "steps" (aka iterations) of the loop around that state machine…

@Nizzo wrote:

I'm also trying to completely stop valves from opening or closing depending on some pressure sensors as if there is pressure and the wrong valve opens it could break a lot of expensive flowmeters.

This also becomes very easy once you create a simple state machine! You can check your conditions in each iteration of the loop around your state machine…

Btw.:

• All those "Steps" clusters belong into an array of clusters - or even use a simple 2D array of booleans!