LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Producer/Consumer Best Practice

Solved!
Go to solution

So I have been using LabVIEW for a few years now and still have a relatively simple question. I have posted three examples below and am wondering what is the best practice when it comes to using the Producer/Consumer with a Message Queue architecture. My gut tells me to always do it like Example 3, but I don't know why exactly. Maybe they are all the same until you get to a certain level of complexity. Any documentation you can point me to is much appreciated.

EXAMPLE 1 - Control Outside Event Structure, passing message only and use the control to update the indicator. 

Example1.PNG

EXAMPLE 2 - Control INSIDE Event Structure, still only passing a message and updating with Local Variable.
Example2.PNG

EXAMPLE 2 - Control INSIDE Event Structure, Passing message AND value from Control, unpacking it inside the consumer loop to update the indicator.

Example3.PNG

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,426 Views)

If your use case is as simple as you are showing, then it probably doesn't matter. However, I would use a single loop, because updating an indicator is so fast that it doesn't really steal much time away to go to a specific case just to update it.

In general though, I would make a message handling loop look the most like ex. 3. The reason is that in the first 2 examples, the indicator is linked to the control. In the third example, you could send a message from anywhere. If you go through the trouble to make a nice message handling loop that talks to a piece of hardware or does some data processing, you want to be able to use it in another application with relatively little effort, and decoupling it from specific controls will help do that.

Message 2 of 8
(3,413 Views)

I use example #3 BUT not the dynamic data.

Using dynamic data makes no sense when you know your data is always a double numeric.