LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PAR/EG&G 263a LabVIEW VI (Cyclic Voltammetry)

Solved!
Go to solution

Hey all-

Dunno if this is the proper place to post this, as it is my first time trying to contribute to the forums, so preemptive apologies to any admins having to move it!

Anyways- I came across these forums a while ago looking for a VI to run the PAR 263a potentiostat. I found one, but didn't really know how the heck it worked (and it seemed to contain a lot of redundancies), so I made my own anyways, and it seems to work for my applications, at least. So I thought I'd share it with all of you. I tried to include plenty of text boxes to help you understand what is going on and why- that way you can be spared the joy of having to figure out how it works on your own!

A few notes, though--

1.) The "future improvements" is more of a note to myself, not a plea for help. If I ever get around to/need to incorporate those adjustments, I'll be sure to share an updated VI. In the meantime, if you improve it, please share your work with the rest of us!

2.) There was an issue where even though the "WCD" (wait till curve is done) command was sent after initiating the scan, the program would continue, and, as a result, return an incomplete array for the current measurements. In order to get around this, I threw in a time delay that should give the potentiostat plenty of time to finish recording the curve before being asking it to be dumped. For slower scan rates this is necessary, but for faster scans (>100 mV/s) you can probably get rid of the delay and instead just run it with the lightbulb on.

3.) For whatever reason the potentiostat seems to hang up sometimes when running the program. If the TALK light stays on too long, stop the program and restart the 263a. This seems to be a hardware issue, as the other VIs I found online seem to suffer the same problem.