LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Nugget: 1 of n : GEtting started with USB communication via VISA

Intarias,

I opened a thread recently wth the followoing post and was adviced to look at this educational thread of yours. I would appreciate if you could help me get going - how to treat my PIC device (class ???), how to register it and how to access it:

_____

I wasn't sure which board is the correct address for my post. I have a custom (home) made PIC based piece of hardware doing DAQ that needs to be contrled via USB. I have no experience with programming USB at all so I don't know where to begin learining from. I guess the first step is to identify the particular USB port, than to open session, write/read byte streams and close it - but don't know how to do this in LabVIEW.

I have search the Developer Zone but the articles I found are advanced for me and I cannot follow. Can somebody  help me with this? The PIC will do DAQ constantly and time-stamp it. My LV app needs to read from it a string of sampled values per channels. Upon certain circumstances I need to send to the PIC cmd for him to do DIO action via relays. So there is no formal serial protocol implemented, and unlike the COMs I don't know how to identify the USB part the PIC is connected to.

_____

Thanks in advance, 

0 Kudos
Message 41 of 104
(4,729 Views)

What type of device are you trying to interface with?  Is it a member of the "Test&Measurement" device class?

Do you have a protocol description? Are you working under Windows?

Shane (a.k.a. Intaris)

Message Edited by Intaris on 10-21-2008 05:45 PM
0 Kudos
Message 42 of 104
(4,729 Views)

Shane,

Thank you for the prompt response!