LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Loading pictures array

Hello,
I am new in programing and I would be glad somebody could help me.

I made a VI that can read pictures of many types (jpg,png,avi,special binary file) and I need to make these pictures all time accessible.  But reading  one by one, only picture that i need, is very slow, so I decided to put all the pictures into the array and saved it to global varriable. Byt when there is more then 60MB od the pictures and I call other function using this global varriable array, it slows down very much (I read it makes duplicate of the array). Is there any other way to load the pictures to make them easily accessable and fast using?

Thank you very much for your help

Tomas
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(3,639 Views)
Using Labview 8.2 and Vision 8.2

Tomas
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 16
(3,638 Views)
Is this 60mb compressed or uncompressed?

If you have 60MB compressed files which are loaded into essentially bitmaps, then your memory requirement will be a lot higher than 60MB.

Have you tried running the profiler?

Can you post some code?

Shane.
Using LV 6.1 and 8.2.1 on W2k (SP4) and WXP (SP2)
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 16
(3,634 Views)
How fast do you need it to be?

I just put together a slide show VI which reads pictures from a list of files. The file reads are much faster than the piture rendering. The only array is the list of filenames and no global or locals were used.

I have run this with hundreds of MB (total) of .jpg files.

Lynn

Message Edited by johnsold on 02-21-2007 09:06 AM

Message 4 of 16
(3,629 Views)
Hello,
here is my code that read pictures. One Case read data from my own binary file and I need to meke the output universal.

Thank you very much for your help

Tomas
Download All
0 Kudos
Message 5 of 16
(3,617 Views)