cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Labview and arduino serial communication package losses

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello people,

I am quite new in labview and I am experiencing some difficulties while trying to optimize my code to get high sample rate. I am using serial communication between arduino and labview and I read and write through serial. My baud-rate is 500k. Arduino sends some sensor values in the following form   "a11.11b11.11c11.11"  without the quotes and I am using termination character change line \n. (the numbers can be negative so no standard packet size). 

My problem is that when I have very fast sampling rate I am not receiving the complete packet. The most often case is that I have a censored packet with the first two characters missing i.e. "1.11b11.11c11.11". I am using "Wait until next ms =10ms" and arduino runs without delays and execution time of the loop is about 9.8ms. If I increase the time I get the complete packages without problem. But I would like to be close 100samples/sec. Any suggestions??? Thanks a lot in advance.

Best regards

Is any way that I can force the serial read from an initialization character to the termination character in a way that I can get all the packets complete?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,519 Views)

Hi antpap13,

It sound like you are trying to do timing of a read to catch the exact amount of data that you require. This will be inherently difficult and perhaps a better method would be to read a specific amount of data from the serial buffer instead of using timing. 

I would suggest you have a look at the following example where you can specify the size of data to read:

C:\Program Files (x86)\National Instruments\LabVIEW 2017\examples\Instrument IO\Serial\Continuous Serial Write and Read

Hopefully this will provide a little more insight.

Kind Regards,

Matt Fergusson

Applications Engineer UK

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(3,457 Views)