LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Labview Filter vs PXIe card filter

Solved!
Go to solution

I am new to this and might be asking multiple questions here.

I have a voltage from a pressure transducer that needs to be filtered due to noise and I would like to know if the filter VI in labview is enough or would i get a PXIe card?  I also will need signal conditioning in my circuit so I was thinking a card with filtering and conditioning would be best, unless that can be handled in the labview software.

My thinking is to get one of the PXIe Analog input module (PXIe-4302, 4303, 4304, 4305, 4309, 4481) to do the signal processing I need then send it to the controller to monitor and display.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(1,270 Views)
Solution
Accepted by Guy4196

Software-based signal filtering is possible up to an extent and it depends on the use case.

For example, software-based equalizers work for audio as long as the actual sound has sufficient resolution and sampling rate.

It is best to use analog filters on analog signals than implement digital filters for those sampled signals.

Could you please elaborate on the type of signal conditioning and filtering requirements?

Santhosh
Soliton Technologies

New to the forum? Please read community guidelines and how to ask smart questions

Only two ways to appreciate someone who spent their free time to reply/answer your question - give them Kudos or mark their reply as the answer/solution.

Finding it hard to source NI hardware? Try NI Trading Post
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(1,268 Views)

I think your answer helped but the exact requirements I am not sure of.  I am new to this project.  From my understanding they do not want change the sampling rate that they have (which I still don't understand why) and want to filter out noise from a pump that is part of the system but also filter it down to avoid aliasing.  I believe this will be a low pass filter, but the cutoff i do not know.