LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Labview Development Versions

I'm new to LabVIEW--but think I'm getting along alright. I'm currently doing a capstone project in which the source code I have been given is in LabVIEW 2009, but my school has a license for 2018. I know that you can back save to a previous version of LabVIEW, however, you cannot build on a previous version of the runtime environment.  Therein lies my problem. If I build the code I was given in LabVIEW 2018, or attempt to run the working build that I was given on the 2018 runtime, it breaks. Is there any way to build a project in a previous development system version (2009)?

Sorry if this is in the wrong place, new to the forum.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,376 Views)

You can still download the 2009 runtime engine to use on the working build you were given...

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(2,372 Views)

@jeremy.peterson97 wrote:

I'm new to LabVIEW--but think I'm getting along alright. I'm currently doing a capstone project in which the source code I have been given is in LabVIEW 2009, but my school has a license for 2018. I know that you can back save to a previous version of LabVIEW, however, you cannot build on a previous version of the runtime environment.  Therein lies my problem. If I build the code I was given in LabVIEW 2018, or attempt to run the working build that I was given on the 2018 runtime, it breaks. Is there any way to build a project in a previous development system version (2009)?

Sorry if this is in the wrong place, new to the forum.

You should be able to install any version up to, and including whatever version the license was created for.  You should be able to legally install LV 2009 with whatever options the LV 2018 license has.  Just use the info from the 2018 license on your 2009 install.

Bill
CLD
(Mid-Level minion.)
My support system ensures that I don't look totally incompetent.