From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to handle an empty path with Read Delimited Spreadsheet

I'm new to labview and working on my first program.  I'm creating an array of paths that is being fed into a For Loop and read with a ReadDelimitedSpreadsheet.vi.  If all paths are filled in then the program executes fine.  My problem is when there's an empty path.  It prompts the dialog box, as it should because of the default setting, but I'd rather it ignore the empty path.  Is there an easy way (a setting or option) that I can get this done rather than creating a case structure that handles what to do when it's an empty path?  I tried using "Not A Path" constant by feeding it to the ReadDelimitedSpreadsheet when I used a "Select" with an  "Empty String/Path".  It still prompts the dialog box. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 19
(3,195 Views)

Sure.  Detect if the path is empty.  Put the Read subVI in a case structure.  If the Path is Empty,  True, do nothing.  If it is False, execute the subVI located in the False case.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 19
(3,191 Views)

Oh all right, I did it that way just now.  I was thinking that there should be an option to ignore empty paths when inputting Array of Paths into that .vi.  But thanks for the reply. 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 19
(3,179 Views)

Suppose it did have that option, how do you expect the VI to behave?  What would its output be?

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 19
(3,172 Views)