LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to display the serial waveform on Labview

Hi,

I'm a newbie in Labview Programming. Is it possible to display the serial waveform on the display using Labview?

From
Don
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(3,362 Views)
Hi

I don't know if I've understood the question.

With the waveform chart you can visualize a point to point graph.

Otherwise, you can buid an array inside a loop and then representate it in a waveform graph, in order to have al the samples.

I hope to be useful

Miquel
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(3,361 Views)
hi Miquel G.

how am i able to look at the RS232 signal. I understand that the signal consist of start and stop bits, and the info. Is it possible to visualize the voltage levels?

From
Don
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 13
(3,348 Views)
Hi,

If I've understood, you want to measure the voltage of an RS-232 signal. It's not possible directly. The reception of the signal is made by the UART of your computer and then, what LabVIEW does is to access to its register to obtain the received data, but only at digital level.

If you want to measure these signal levels, you've to use any mean of adquisition signal system

Regards
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 13
(3,339 Views)
hi,

thanks alot

From
Don
0 Kudos
Message 5 of 13
(3,331 Views)
Are you trying to test a UART to see if it meets specs? That would seem to me to be the only reason you need to measure voltage levels. If you're trying to do something else, could explain a little more?
0 Kudos
Message 6 of 13
(3,327 Views)
From theory I've understand that RS232 signals take a certain kind of waveform. I'm trying to see if the RS232 which I'm passing into my serial port could be visualize using Labview.

thanks
0 Kudos
Message 7 of 13
(3,313 Views)