LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help for a newbie?

I am a novice to the Labview environment and I've been given my first project. I have an idea of just making a "box" of 25 led indicators that display the number given by a numeric control.

As you can see by the screenshot, this is as far as I could get. When I try to input the boolean to the same led indicator I get an error. Can a LED indicator change to have more "ports" so that the error won't appear? Can you help me or just give me a way to make it?
ATTENTION: We have not learned about the more complex stuff (for example functions and arrays) and so I would like to make it using the more basic tools of Labview even if it takes too much space. Thank you!Screenshot_5.png

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(1,615 Views)

Even if you don't want to use arrays (which would make things 25x simpler without really needing to learn anything new), your Number control needs to be an integer (blue, not orange!).

If you don't want to use functions or arrays, you already failed, because the equal comparison is a "function" in the broadest sense, right?

Are "structures" allowed? If so you can wire the number to a case structure with 10 cases and 10 output tunnels, one for each case.

All that said, your restrictions are completely silly. If using arrays, the code would fit on a postage stamp and there are much fewer places for bugs to hide.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(1,613 Views)

25 Indicators seams excessive.  You only need 7 arranged:

1.   2

4.   5

Yup! A 7 Stroke array just like on your digital clock